Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I tried raspberries

on September 30, 2013

I love fruit!

One of my favorites are cherries.  The ones made by Queen Anne and surrounded by chocolate.

Really I have tons of favorites…apples, grape jelly, orange slices (the ones in the clear baggy that are gummy, sugar coated and found on the candy aisle – I’ve heard they have a good amount of Vitamin C!), and most of the skittles (the green ones taste like pine sol to me-bleh!), etc.

And I love bananas…especially in banana splits.  Actually, that’s a lie.  I hate banana splits…I don’t like my ice cream contaminated by healthy stuff.

So, I guess you can tell I’m not what you call a fruit and veggie kinda girl…but I have aspirations to be :).
I don’t think I have any grudges against fruits and veggies…they just don’t taste like chocolate so why waste the time.

But again, I want to be.  So I found my self in the colorful yet foreign territory of the produce aisle. I veered away from my usual go-tos of apples and oranges and started to poke around at the other strange items.

Have you noticed how many fruits have fur?  How does that happen?  Think about it…coconuts, kiwis, blueberries…oh wait…that last one could have been due to the extended stay in my fridge.  They got pushed behind the pickles and eggs and well you leave them little blue orbs unattended in a cold, occasionally lit environment and they go crazy trying to morph into a monster!

Well, speaking of hairy…raspberries…they look like they have little hairs growing out between the little pinkish red bumps.  In fact, if you study what a raspberry really looks like, I don’t see how anyone came to put that odd item in their mouth.

But maybe I’m backwards and need to give them a try.  And Sam’s put them on sale for like $2 so I figured I didn’t have much to lose.  I bought them, brought them home and put them in my fridge for 3 days until I mustered my gumption to try the wild little beasties.

So, tonights the night.  I pulled them out of the fridge and stared at them.  They look like the little brains from Zombie Farm.  I know they won’t taste like brains…at least I hope not.  Oh gosh…if I’m envisioning brains now I will never be able to do this.  I need something to change what they look like…maybe something to disguise them.  Ahh!  I know!  Cool Whip!  Everything tastes better with a dollop of Cool Whip!

Suddenly, that little berry is looking better!  I try it…its not that bad…surprisingly quite a creamy, sweet texture for a piece of fruit!  Oh wait…that’s the whip cream…lol

Actually, it was good.  : )

And raspberries are natural fat burners and high in fiber…even more motivation to learn to like them : )raspberry

3 responses to “Today I tried raspberries

  1. jeanne says:

    Good for you and good for you too. I love raspberries in the morning with my granola and yogurt for breakfast. They are the best.

  2. Melissa says:

    Haha! I didn’t know when I gave you the amber raspberry you had never tried a red raspberry. Maybe a raspberry smoothie to make you love them more?

Leave a Reply

