Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I made an Appletini

on October 9, 2013

I’m not much of a lush…ok, I am but shhhh….don’t tell anyone else.

Today has been a dilemma about travel plans and back and forth decisions of whether I should wait to be available when the family needs me later (after my mom-in-law returns home) or take the opportunity to see her asap.  I still don’t know what the right answer is.

On my way home though, I received a call.  Probably one of the most sweetest calls I have ever received in my life.  When someone picks up the phone to call you just because they were thinking of you and it just makes your whole day…no…your whole forever kinda calls.

My mom-in-law called me.

First of all, I love my mom-in-law.  I scored in the mom-in-law department.  She is a lady who has it all together.  She is loving, intelligent, independent, God loving, nurturing, brave, strong woman.  I could go on and on with all the positive adjectives I could think of right now but I would keep you reading this for hours.  In fact (this is a huge confessional), I’ve always called her Mrs. (last name).  Ever since I met her, she insisted on me calling her by her first name but I just couldn’t.  I resorted to calling her Mrs. (last name) out of HUGE respect to her but also, I never had the bravery to ask if I could call her mom…because that’s what I really want to call her.

I don’t know if she will ever know this but that’s the depth of my love and awe for her.

She called me and I heard her voice on the other end of the phone.  My heart lit up.

Just so you can understand the epicness of this, she is at the point in this process where she is having good moments and not so good moments.  That was a good moment and she wanted to call everyone to say she loved us, while she was lucid.  I made the list. : )

By the time I came home, I felt I had been on an emotional rollercoaster all day.  At work, I try to keep it together.  I work in the elections field and there is a big election coming in less than a month.  It’s all hands and minds on deck.  I’m half of each right now.

Then I get the wonderful call and I’m left absolutely excited to see her, ready to leave to be with her at a moments notice and when I see her, give her as many hugs as she can take!  But I’m also so INFURIATED with cancer.

Cancer sucks.  I want to kick it in the shins.

Combine this with a few nights of only a few hours sleep and I could really use a distraction.  And something to relax me to ensure a good nights rest.

In my kitchen cabinet, in the process of finding the sunflower oil, I rediscovered a box of a mix for an Appletini that I received as a gift.  I’ve never had an Appletini and this mix has been sitting in the cabinet for a while…the honorable thing would be to use it, right?  Sounds like a plan to cure all that ails me today.

The mix calls for 2 tsp of the mix, 1.5 cup of cold water and 2 tbsp of vodka.  Looky there…I have all that in my kitchen : )  So I throw all the ingredients together, shake inIMG_20131009_211339_183 my snazzy shaker along with some ice and pour into a martini glass.

Sipping adult beverages remind me of Magda from There’s Something About Mary (I could only find a foreign clip but I think you get the idea)…I always remember the scene where she has cucumbers on her eyes and sips her margarita then raspily says “Mmm….good, good, good, good”.  I always feel compelled to reenact the scene whenever I sip martinis…well, without the cucumbers…unfortunately my kitchen is not as well stocked as I thought.

The Appletini wasn’t as good as I thought but I believe the issue was trying to create it from a powder mix.  It tasted like apple koolaid with alittle kick.  Also, I fully subscribe to the theory that cocktails, like massages and bill paying, are always better when someone else does them.  It works for what I need tonight (yawn) but I’m gonna have to give it another chance the next time I’m at a restaurant/bar.

5 responses to “Today I made an Appletini

  1. girlychristina says:

    Even tough your drink didn’t taste that great, it looked good! I mean, alcohol and apples?? “Nuff said! hehe. =)

    I’m sorry you are going through a stressful time right now with your MIL. =( I’m praying for you and your family! Just take one day at a time and be present and enjoy every moment.


    Christina

    • iamerica911 says:

      Hehehe…I agree, apples and alcohol=match made in heaven!!! But I’m no mixologist so I will have to leave it to the true professionals 🙂
      Thank you for the prayers Christina! 🙂

  2. girlychristina says:

    Hi pretty lady!! I wanted to let you know that I adore reading your blog and being inspired by you! This is why I nominated you for The Versatile Blogger Award!!! CONGRATS!!!!! Check it out here! YAY!

    Christina
    http://lifebeinggirly.com/2013/10/10/gushing-with-glee/

Leave a Reply

