Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I made No Bake Pina Colada bars

on January 5, 2014

A few weeks ago, I shared that I made a vegan dip for a surprise bday.  During my recipe research, I found a raw food/paleo simple dessert bar I had planned to make in addition to the dip.  Well, I ran out of time that afternoon so I bookmarked the recipe for later.

Then came Christmas…since I had all the ingredients, I figured I could make the recipe then but ran out of time.

Today however…all the stars aligned and time stood still.  And Downton Abbey Season 4 begins tonight!   A friend has invited me over to watch and I thought we may need some comfort food to console us when we are reminded that Matthew died just as Mary had the baby!

The recipe, No Bake Pina Colada bars, has 3 ingredients and maybe 3 steps.  Something my limited cooking skills could handle.

The recipe states to combine all the ingredients into a food processor.  Uh, I don’t have an electric one but maybe my manual food processor will work.  With this manual job you not only “process” the food but get a workout too!  You have to pump the handle up/down to move the blades which “processes” the food.
image

With only a 3 cup capacity, I had to be creative in my processing.  I began with the honey (Hungry Hill Farms Raw Honey – Yeah for Virginia farms!)+pineapple, pumped the processor a few hundred times and then added the dry coconut flakes (this is where the muscle building began).  I could only get half the coconut flakes in so I took half out, added in half the rest of the flakes, pumped a few hundred times, put into a mixing bowl and did the same with the other half.
image

Challenge overcame!  Who needs a counter hogging, electric food processor?!

Not this chick, the new owner of upper arms of stainless steel!

Then, the recipe called for a 8×8 pan.  Uh, again, don’t have one of those but surly a 9 3/4 x 9 3/4 Correll casserole dish can do in a pinch.  I put the mixture in the dish but I seemed alittle short.  Back to the processor I go!   I made a half recipe and added that into the dish.
image

Now, I still seemed alittle short but decided to pull a trick out of my culinary bag.   I took the spatula and went around the edge to move the mixture away from the sides which will also make it easier to cut.
image

Culinary genius, right?!

Maybe I’m totally a Ms. Patmore…just with an ill stocked kitchen!

Happy Downton Abbey watching! 🙂

Leave a Reply

