Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I played Lords of Waterdeep

on January 12, 2014

Calling this my something new for the day may be stretching but I had such a great time playing Lords of Waterdeep, I just had to write about it!

So, game nights stretch out into the wee hours of the morning.  We begin with some eats and then usually play a game that includes everyone and then break away into smaller groups to play other board games.  I’m so new to these European style board games I inevitably play a new game I had never heard of.  After midnight, you could find me playing Lords of Waterdeep.

LoWI’ve never played Dungeon and Dragons so when I saw it on the box I didn’t know what to think.  I come from the generation that our parents feared their kids playing D&D.  I still to this day am not sure why.  Anyhoo, I was in for a treat.

Five of us gathered at the table to begin…the gentleman who’s game it was offered to teach us how to play as we went.  He set up the game, handed us our character card and said our objective was to see who is the Lord of Waterdeep (the person with the most points at the end of the game).  To earn points, you do quests.   Our character cards tell us who were are and what our interests are.  For instance, I was Kyriani Agrivar who’s interests were in piety and arcana.  As such, I needed to complete quests with those themes to be given points at the end of the game.  We were also given quest cards and intrigue cards.

To begin, we have two little guys (proper term is agent but I like little guys better) who can be placed in various locations.  You place your little guy on various spaces on the game board.  Those spaces in turn give you the personnel or resources needed to complete quests.  There are also spaces which give you more quests, allow you to buy buildings, or to allow you to play your intrigue cards.

Intrigue cards are wild cards which can (1) help you character, (2) help your character and other characters, or (3) deter one of your fellow game players.  For instance, the mandatory quests appeared quite frequently.  When you see another player completing a ton of quests, to slow them down you can give them a mandatory quest which has to be completed before they are able to continue the other quests.

Let me take this opportunity to better explain quests.  You are given two quest cards to begin.  A quest card could say it requires 2 clerics (white cubes), 2 rogues (black cubes) and 2 gold.  When you have gathered these items from the spaces on the board, you “complete” the quest (return items to the banker) and in turn are rewarded with additional game points.  At the end of the game, you can earn additional end game points if your quests were in your character’s interest fields.

The buildings in the game allow for more opportunities to gather various resources.  If you place your agent (oh no…I’m converting!) on the appropriate space, you can buy a building in which other characters can use if they need those particular resources.  In turn you get rent or additional resources, just for them using the space.  I’m so sorry…I know this may be totally taboo…but it reminded me a lot of Monopoly in this respect.  Gather buildings and sit back to reap the rewards!

So…you now know all the elements!  Ready to play?!

No worries, we were in the same boat.

Our heads were swimming when we began but the guy was patient in explaining and by the end of the game I felt pretty confident in my game play.  I really wanted to play again but seeing as it was 1 am-ish we would have to play another day.

I loved the game!  I truly loved all the pieces that came with the game and was quite impressed there were trays to separate everything by their colors!  I was in organizational heaven!!

I added D & D Lords of Waterdeep to my Amazon Wishlist that night!! : )

Leave a Reply

