Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I made Mustard Balsamic Chicken / Fried squash

on January 29, 2014

It’s a red letter day!  You are in for a treat!  I’m gonna blow you away…I did TWO new things today!

I’m still snowed in.  Seems when I get snowed in, I get inspired to spend some time in the kitchen.  You would think as much as I love snow, I would be out in it building forts, snowmen, or muscles shoveling it.

Nay nay….no messing up the snow!

I made Mustard Balsamic Chicken for supper tonight.

Here’s the recipe:  http://paleoleap.com/mustard-balsamic-baked-chicken/

I pretty much followed the recipe except for where I didn’t.  : )

I had bone in chicken thighs….I could have deboned them but ain’t nobody got time for that!

Sorry…I heard that yesterday and it’s been stuck in my head…I just had to get that line out of my system. : )

So, I left the bone in.  I also left the skin on thinking it would keep the chicken moister.  I made an additional half recipe of the sauce due to keep the bones and there were 10 thighs in my package, vice the 8 as recommended in the recipe.  I also didn’t have rosemary on hand so omitted it.  Otherwise, I made it exactly as the recipe says.

Once I had the chicken in the oven, I had to decide on a side dish.  Usually my side dishes come from a can or a box.  Today I wanted to step it up a bit.   I had on hand yellow squash, spaghetti squash, brussel sprouts, cauliflower and chocolate to choose from.   I swear my fridge has never seen so many veggies at once in it…ever!  Even though I wanted to step it up, I wanted something quick cause my cooking desire was waning…so yellow squash it is!

I’ve never cooked yellow squash…sadly, I’ve never even eaten yellow squash.  This will be interesting.  I also abandoned my usual recipe research (ain’t nobody got time for that…sorry…last time)..I thought I could just wing it : )

So, I sliced 4 small squashes, then sliced them in half.  I cut half a Vidalia onion into stripes.  In a non stick frying pan, I melted a tablespoon of butter  and then added the squash and onions to the pan.  I sautéed the mixture together on slightly above medium heat for 5-8 minutes.  wpid-20140129_180005.jpg

And viola!  Fried squash : )

I think I have a great idea…next time it snows I’m throwing a Snowed In Party.  I’ll open the house up to whoever wants to hang out during the snow for food, games and general snowin’ good fun.  That way too I have guinea pigs guests to try out my kitchen creations : )

wpid-20140129_180209.jpg

Leave a Reply

