Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I made a recipe from memory

on February 20, 2014

I’m a by the book, measure every ingredient kinda cook.  Usually, if a recipe has too many vague measurments (dash, smidge, about…) I don’t even attempt it.

Unfortunately, I have procrastinated in doing the grocery shopping this week…but I kinda did it by design too.  I have canned goods and frozen items that I always overlook during meal planning…by not having my usual meal staples I’m forcing myself to use the items I already have.

So I shopped the freezer and found the Blackened Salmon I was planning on …but it required dethawing.  Bummer.

I remembered a dish my grandmother used to make.  Of course, she cooked without recipes and rarely wrote down the creations she made so I totally had to wing it.

I was shaking in my slippers…and apron…

The dish consisted of kilbasa, onions, green peppers and tomatoes.  Stir fry it all together and serve over rice.

Easy enough, right?

Without measurements, I figured I could just eye it.  I started with the veggies…I cut up 2 green peppers, 1 onion (vidella) and 2 packages of kilbasa. Woah!  I think I over did it on the amounts…I could invite the Olympic team over for dinner!  As for the tomatoes, I only had canned tomatoes so I used those.

I cooked up the kilbasa first to remove some of the grease.  I placed the meat on paper towels to drain even more.  I wiped the pan out and sauteed the onions and green peppers.  When they were done, I added the meat back in and poured in the tomatoes.  That simmered for about 20 minutes on low.
image

Woah!  I sound like I know what I’m doing!  I must be getting extra help from above.  The dish tasted almost like my grandmothers…I guess it just didn’t have her touch.
image

I usually like to give y’all awesome peeps a good amount of pictures but I didn’t realize this was going to be today’s blog.

I planned on writing about my adventures of making easy toffee candy.  The candy turned into an epic fail so I’ll have to retry that another day.
image

Leave a Reply

