Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I made a freeze ahead crock pot meal

on March 8, 2014

Some friends of mine are expecting!! How exciting!! 🙂

They pretty much have everything they need for the arrival of their bundle of love! As such, they opted to have a baby party and asked guests to make their favorite casserole or crock pot fixins that they could freeze to have on hand for those busy baby days.

I’ve never made a meal ahead and froze it so let the adventure begin! 🙂

I remember seeing a blog post about making crock pot meals ahead of time. The writer created 40 meals in one day and froze them. I cannot decide whether she’s a genius or sadistic! 40 meals! 1 day! Either way, I give her props!

I tracked down the blog post and found two similar recipes that made my mouth water.

Recipe 1 and Recipe 2

I ended up merging these two recipes.

In the same spirit of 40 meals in one day, I decided to make 2 servings of this meal… in one day.

Phew! 2 meals in one day…it’s gonna be tough but I’ll use my optimistic attitude to pull me through!

Here’s what I ended up with:
I used 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed well, 2 cans corn, drained and rinsed, 2 cans diced tomatoes and green chiles (I drained these but if you want a saucier sauce then I would suggest using the juice), 8 chicken breast, 2 packs of taco seasoning and 2 jars salsa.

I love the versatility of this recipe…you can use it for soft tacos, serve it over rice or a top a salad. And it can be garnished with sour cream, guacamole, and/or a margarita! Ole!

The recipes call this Salsa Chicken…I think it should be Fiesta Chicken! Ole! A party in a freezer ziplock bag! Ole!

image

Leave a Reply

