Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I tried Honey and Apple Cider Vinegar

on March 27, 2014

A few months back, when I went to the acupuncturist, he recommended I try a honey and apple cider vinegar mixture…he called it a tonic…when I hear tonic, I think tonic water and immediately cringe.

Of course, I said I would try it…but didn’t.

Then the other day a friend told me how she uses it everyday and suggested I give it a try.

Of course, I said I would…but hadn’t.

But today I needed an afternoon pick me up and figured some honey might get my wings a buzzing 🙂 Then the two recommendations replayed in my head…hmmm…

Have you ever chugged natural apple cider vinegar? Woo-wee…it’s strong…it will make your toes curl, lips pucker, and eyeballs water…in that order. Before I obliterate my really good local honey I needed to know this “tonic’s” benefit.

Let’s Yahoo!

One website said it helps to prevent indigestion. I hadn’t planned a pepperoni pizza in my near future so no need for that.

Another site provided a whole list of ailments it releives…arthritis, bad breath, brittle nails, ingrown toe nails, bad judgement in men and aversions to broccoli. Ok, some of them weren’t actually listed but I’m sure it was just an oversight.

The last website I’ll mention said the elixir would ease colitis, tickly coughs, and boils (yuck!). Oh thank goodness! My life is complete…I’ve learned something new…I am now armed with how to cure boils!

Well, obviously this little mixture packs some healing power so I’ll try it…

No, for real…I really will try it this time.

image

I put one tablespoon of each in a glass and mixed with a spoon. Ok, I confess…this picture was my second attempt at mixing it. The first time I put the honey in first and had a hard time coaxing the honey from the side of the glass…learn from my ignorance: start with the vinegar first.

Alright…once I mixed it up it was time to drink it…

Ok…I’m gonna drink it now…

I put the glass up to take a sip and the vinegar smell punched my nose!  Ack!!…give me a minute..

Ok…nose is now prepared…1…2…3…CHUG!

The honey did take some of the bite from the vinegar but my cheeks still puckered and eyes watered. You taste the vinegar first but the honey follows and soothes the sourness.

Overall, not bad…I would do it again…it may be too early to note any health benefits but I do feel world peace coming.

11 responses to “Today I tried Honey and Apple Cider Vinegar

  1. heather alf says:

    Have you tried Kombucha? Kinda like the vinagar tonic but better. I have a few extra “mothers if you’re interested.

  2. Jeanne says:

    I do a tablespoon of vinegar and 1 tablespoon of black strap molasses in a cup of hot water, it is very drinkable. It is supposed to help with digestion and asthma, help prevent bladder infections. and other stuff.
    but the molasses is better then the honey in my opinion. my dh drinks country time lemonade or tang at every meal instead of milk, and he puts a teaspoon of vinegar in his lemonade, says he can’t taste it at all.

  3. Jeanne says:

    oh, and by the way, I make a half gal of yogurt every week. So thanks for your articles about kombucha, I have been considering it.

    • iamerica911 says:

      Is it hard to make your own yogurt? I would love to do that…as a something new and to control the sugar/questionable additives.

      • Jeanne says:

        it is not hard at all. I make 2qrts every week, and I do not have any fancy equipment.

        Items needed:
        1 container of yogurt from the grocery – it should contain live culture bacteria, my choice is chobani. This yogurt must not have any added fruit, but can be the vanilla flavor or the plain.
        A glass 2qrt bowl
        A measuring cup
        A ladle
        2 quart canning jars with lids
        A small picnic cooler and some towels or blankets
        A thermometer – digital works great
        Milk, I use whole milk which works best, but you can use 2% but it will be more watery or you can compensate by adding some powdered milk.

        leave container of yogurt on your counter while heating the milk so it will warm closer to room temp.
        Put 7 cups of milk in the glass bowl and place it in the microwave. It takes about 12 minutes on high in mine to get the milk temp to above 180 but not above 200 degrees

        let milk sit until cooled to 115-110 degrees, takes about 30 – 45min

        ladle about 1 cup warm milk into the measuring cup and add the container of purchased yogurt. Stir well, then pour the mixture into the rest of the bowl of milk. Stir well again and ladle the milk into the jars making sure the level of milk in each jar is about even – the reason you use 7 cups of milk, so after you add the yogurt, you don’t over fill your jars.

        Place the lids on the jars, they do not have to be canning lids, simply lids that fit.

        place the jars in the picnic cooler and fill the cooler with hot tap water until the level of the milk in the jars,- you don’t want the jars to float.

        Close the lid on the cooler and cover with the towels or a quilt or 2. You want to keep the heat in. One thing you can do is fill the cooler with hot water ahead of time to heat it up, that helps. Then replace the water when you put the jars in.

        Let set about 8 hours. check to see if you have yogurt by taking the lid off and slightly tipping the jar, the milk should be solid. Then place your jars in the fridge

        You should have 2 qrts of yogurt. You can use your own yogurt for about 3-4 times before it gets too sour and you need to purchase a new container from the store.

        If you like a thicker yogurt, you can add powdered milk to the warm milk before you add the yogurt. no more then 1/2 – 1 cup.

        Also, you can use a coffee filter in a strainer to strain the whey out of the yogurt after it is done. by doing this you can have yogurt cream cheese.

        The sour flavor is in the whey, so removing some of that will help.

        If you like fruit in your yogurt, you can add it when you eat it.

        This is straight yogurt, there is no added sugar or fruit or thickeners.

      • iamerica911 says:

        Wow!!! I’m super impressed!! I’m gonna give this a try and do a post on it soon : )

  4. Jeanne says:

    oh, and you can purchase yogurt starters that you can use indefinitely, similar to your kombucha scoby. I got mine from Cultures for health, they have all kinds of fermented food starters.

Leave a Reply

