Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I watched The Guild

on April 11, 2014

I was cooking supper and heard from the living room “It’s gone!  He deleted my character…2 years of my life, my gold, my reputation points…I don’t exist anymore!!”

Gosh…I feel like I’ve said that before…flashes of my Pirates of the Burning Seas days (the only MMORPG I have ever played) and our Gosport Naval guild played in my head…Port battles at 2 am, leveling up to buy an ubber ship, sailing for 4 hours from Bartica to Tampa for limestone just to avoid red zones…good times… But what’s that gotta do with the TV show?!

I had to ask..
Me: “Hubbie, watchya watching?!”

Hubbie: “The Guild”

Me: “Oh…I’ve never heard of it…what’s it about?”

Hubbie: “A guild.”

….no, really?!

I pondered throwing the kitchen towel at him but honestly, if I were in his Crocs, I probably would have egged him too.

Hubbie was already into Season 2 and I’m a stickler for watching things in order.  I tried to convince him to start at the beginning…and by convincing, I mean sayin pretty please and batting my eyelashes…

Nope, didn’t work.

I was about to bring out the big guns… but the next thing I know Wil Wheaton is on the screen!

Wil Wheaton!!

oh…well…what’s the biggie about what happened in Season 1 and half of Season 2?!

So, I settled in to watch The Guild, an internet show spoofing the life and game play of a guild.  I loved it!!  If you’ve ever played an online multiplayer game, are an awesome nerd, or Wil Wheaton groupie you have to watch it!
image

Leave a Reply

