Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I tried kombucha

on April 13, 2014

I’ve heard a lot about kombucha…tons of health benefits, great tasting, a do it yourself kitchen creation, and carbinated natural alternative to sodas!

I pondered buying some when I went to the natural grocery store but I had an eye problem that day…I couldn’t see spending $5 for a one serving bottle of tea.

I’ve tried to give up sodas…after a while I feel better and less like a Macys Thanksgiving Day Parade Float (or in simple terms: bloated) but inevitably I go back because I need alittle extra flavor in my drink. And I like how the bubbles tickle my nose! lol

When I posted about the apple cider vinegar and honey tonic, my dear friend at Cheerful Chicken Farm offered to give me one of her scobys. Since I had read so much about kombucha, I had looked into buying one but again my eye problem got in the way. I couldn’t see paying $10-30 for a scoby from a questionable source. So, when she offered me one, I jumped on it ๐Ÿ™‚

I finally had the chance today to visit the farm and she let me try some kombucha from the scoby she was giving me. I was so excited, I failed to get a picture….maybe I’ll reinact one later.

One sip and I was hooked. To me, it tasted like sweet tea with a slight fizziness and just a tad vinegary taste, but not too much. I loved it! I tried to lady like sip it through out my visit but I couldn’t help myself….I downed it! And to know it was good for me…I mean, how often do you find something that tastes good and is good for you?!

In my research, I have found that kombucha:
* detoxifies the body
* helps with digestion using probiotics
* aids joints and releives arthritis
* boosts your immunity
* makes you look like Sophia Vergara

All that packed in a tea! Can you say ah-mazing?!ย  Actually, we should say tea-riffic!

My dear friend gave me the instructions and sent me home with my very own kombucha…you would have thought she gave me my first born! I made sure to secure it tightly in the truck…I almost buckled the jar in but instead wedged it between some yarn I had packed for the ride.

A can predict a future something new will be brewing my first batch of kombucha…stay tuned! ๐Ÿ™‚
image

Leave a Reply

