Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I bought farm fresh eggs

on May 31, 2014

I’ve enjoyed farm fresh eggs before that I had gotten from the Cheerful Chicken Farm.  They have great eggs and I would solely get mine from them.  Unfortunately,  they are almost 2 hours away which makes it hard to make a weekly trip.

I needed to find a local source.

On my drive home from work last week, I noticed a sign offering eggs for $3/ dozen in front of a house along my path.  How cool is that?!  But it’s odd to visit someone’s house that you don’t know them.  You’re not sure when they’re home or what time would be convenient for them.  As such, I just drove by figuring I’d stop at a better hour.

Today when I drove by, I noticed a guy cutting the grass.  Perfect!   This way I know company is welcomed.  I pulled in and he motioned for me to go to the door.  I rang the door  bell to the brick ranch and in a few moments a little old lady shuffled to the door.

She invited me into her home.  The foyer opened to her living room.  Her living room reminded me of my great grandmothers’.  It was homey, inviting, and comfortable.  The walls were covered in family photos…some with younger versions of her, some more current of grandchildren.  Doilies laid under each lamp and atop each wing chair and the TV was tuned to Wheel of Fortune.  Her house felt so comfortable I just wanted to take my shoes off and plant myself on the couch.  We could yell the answers to the puzzles and stay tuned for the hunky Alex Trebec.  I really don’t think he’s hunky but I wouldn’t dare tell her that.

We exchanged pleasantries and she asked how many I wanted.  I requested two dozen as I’m planning to do some baking.  She turned and shuffled into the kitchen.  I wanted to offer to help her but at the same time I didn’t want to just traipse through her house uninvited.  After some time she returned with two dozen eggs in styrofoam egg cartons.

She would later introduce herself as Lula.  In the introduction she asked my name.  When I said Erica she replied “That’s nice dear.  I’m never gonna remember that but I’ll remember you.”  Awww….how truthfully cute!!!  In our conversation she told me she is 80 years old and has 8 children who all live close but don’t have time for her.  As such, she raises chickens because it keeps her active and something she enjoys.   She sells the eggs to earn a few bucks and to keep from having eggs running out her ears.   Awww…I immediately offered if she needed anything I lived just right down the road.  I currently have an opening for an adopted grandmother and she would do just fine.

As she handed me the eggs she said I hope you don’t mind green eggs.  At first I thought, green eggs?  As in bad eggs?  But then I remembered a conversation I had with my friends at the Cheerful Chicken Farm about different species of chickens producing different colored eggs.  Pastel eggs (or Easter eggs) are more valuable due to their uniqueness but beyond the shell color, they are just like regular eggs.   I asked her did she know she could charge more for them.  She said “Honey, I just don’t want to be overrun with eggs” in her sweet shakey voice.

After the transaction, we walked to the door.  She offered if I ever needed eggs to stop by and see her.  I replied she is now my egg dealer and I’d be visiting her often.  I wanted to hug her but I restrained myself.  Maybe next visit I can reach huggable status…I mean I am her adopted granddaughter after all…

I didn’t open the carton until I came home.

image

I just love all the different colors.   Honestly I’ve never had green eggs before so maybe that’ll be an upcoming post. 🙂

Leave a Reply

