Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I fixed a Kindle

on July 5, 2014

image

What a pitiful, sad Kindle face…

The poor Kindle needed to be fed.  So I hooked it up to the charger and went about my business.

A few hours later, I returned and still found the sad Kindle face.

Uh-oh…is it broke?  has it died? does Amazon have a sale on Kindles right now? is that too soon to ask?!

Well, I guess before I start planning the expenditure I should see if anything can be done.   I don’t think of myself as a techie but I know my way around Yahoo and well, I did just finish all the episodes of IT Crowd.

Within my first search I found a solution.  The instructions were to connect the confused Kindle to the charger, hold the power button down for 45 seconds and allow to reboot (several minutes).

Really?!  That’s all?  I’ve got this in the bag!!

I followed the instructions.  I held the button for 45 seconds…I didn’t time it, I just counted it.  At 45 seconds, the screen didn’t change so I held it for another 30 seconds.  At that point, the screen still didn’t change so I just released the switch.  Obviously this wasn’t the solution and I needed to go back to the…oh wait!!  It just changed! It changed when I released it!  Why isn’t this critical piece of info in the instructions?!

At any rate, I let it be, per the incomplete instructions.  Within a few minutes the Kindle had been resuscitated and was happily charging.

Woohoo!!

One response to “Today I fixed a Kindle

  1. KINDLE BOOKS says:

    […] …Written by Try Something New Everyday[…]

Leave a Reply

