Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I had a hangover

on August 17, 2014

I never planned to drink so much that I ended up with a hangover….said every person with a hangover.
image

I’ve had some really, really, really bad apple pie moonshine taking up precious fridge space for several weeks now. A few weeks back, I wanted to recreate a drink I had at the Dave Matthews Band concert. At the spirit store, I had the option of getting my favorite brand or save $10 and try a new brand. I don’t shy away from trying something new and I sure do like to save a Hamilton! But this stuff is bbbaaaaaddd! Awwwwwful!! I won’t even share the brand name. It’s that bad! And it had to go!

But I cannot throw it out…

Now, I’ve had my share of moonshine and know my limits…what was left would not get me beyond my “point”. But to make it drinkable, I added cinnamon flavor whiskey which I had on hand from the re-creation attempt. I’m a whiskey newb…

So there I was drinking my concoction…and feeling good…and watching Hatfields and McCoys on Netflix. I should have realized I had too much because I couldn’t keep straight who was a Hatfield and who was a McCoy. Really…the conversation went something like “Bill Paxton…which one is he? A McCoy? Ok…so then Kevin Costner is a McCoy? No wait…he must be a Hatfield…then Bill Paxton is a Hatfield…no…wait…who is who?”

But, you know…of course more slirred…

After a while, I decide to go to bed which was when all the fun began. I laid down and the room spun. Ugh….I hate the room spin. Sometimes you can work through it by staying focused on one object and reassuring yourself over and over again that the room is connected to the house and physically cannot spin…unless you are in the Wizard of Oz or an episode of Dr. Who…but you’re not…you’re just drunk so again…it’s against physics.

But tonight I couldn’t get both eyes to focus on one object.

I was slammered!

Ugh! I’m never gonna drink again…

I tried to shut my eyes…worst idea ever! With nothing to attempt to focus on the room spin went into hyperdrive…which my tummy protested and the porcelain worship begun. Ugh…I’m never gonna drink again!

The cycle of trying to sleep and worshiping went on for about 1.5 hours…after which I finally got some sleep. I swear I’m never gonna drink again…

Now, I’m blessed with either a super strong liver or the no hangover gene. I have drunk to excess many times in my past…not a usual event but a road I’ve been down many times…and woke up the next morning with a spring in my step and a cheerful smile on my face. This morning as I stirred I felt an awful headache and queasy tummy. I tried to open my eyes but the suns extra brightness could only be explained that it was standing in my bedroom. I had to go to the bathroom but getting up was not an option. And my body ached…oh the aches! And then I realized…I have a hangover!

I mustered up the energy to head to the bathroom. As I walked in I noticed an open container of Clorox wipes. I’m a stickler for closing the container as the wipes dry out so fast so I’m not sure who would leave the open container in the middle of the floor….oh wait….now I remember…that was me. I cleaned after my incidents.

I made my way back to the bed and laid back down. I just wanted to stay in the fetal position all day but knew I had plans that morning that I couldn’t break. Ugh…I’m never gonna drink again!

I knew I’d have to start taking care of myself to return to functioning status. I got up again, which seemed like a feat all in itself, and headed to the kitchen. I’d heard bananas help with hangovers…I think. And I grabbed a zero calorie sports drinks too and headed back into the bed with them. Even though I had no desire to eat, I consumed both and then laid back down….this up and down only made my issues worse. And I promise never to drink again!

I tried to return to sleep but sleep eluded me and I was just left regretting all the moving around I did…and did I mention I have a splitting headache.

After about 15 minutes of wallowing in my misery, I knew I needed to get up to keep my plans. Once upright, I took a shower…why does water have to be so loud? The water felt like someone tapping on my head…I’m never gonna drink again!

And can I go back to bed? I guess I become whiney when I’m hungover…

I got dressed. Wait…the last I knew, my jeans were in the wash awaiting to be dried…yet they hung in my closet…and not on their designated hanger. How did that happen?! I ask the hubs and he stated I did laundry last night.

Really?! I have no recollection!!

Some people have this happenin’ life that they do all kinds of fun and daring things worth having drunk amnesia over. You know, kissing a stranger…dancing on tables…going for pancakes at 3 am…you know, fun stuff!! I on the other hand…do…laundry.

Oh yah…party girl…right here!

Anyhoo, my stomach was still pretty uneasy, the sun was literally staring me in the eyes, and the headache was relentless…but I continued to put one foot in front of the other and head out the door. I kept sipping on my sports drink but knew I needed to get some non-greasy protein in me. I decided I could stomach an Egg McMuffin.

Within an hour of eating said McSandwich from the alcohol gods, I was hangover free. I declare McMuffins miracle food!!

Ugh….what a less than enjoyable experience. I swear…I’m never gonna drink again!!!

Leave a Reply

