Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I ate at a vegetarian restaurant

on August 31, 2014

I’m not a vegetarian…but I deeply respect and admire those who are.

I have a dear friend who opts to live this incredibly honorable choice.  We go out to eat on a pretty regular basis but we don’t have any solely vegetarian restaurants in our area.  As such, she’s forced to have a limited selection of menu items to choose from.

Today however, we took a small trip out of town to pick apples and made a point to go to the vegetarian restaurant in that area.

On the way she said the menu was on the restaurant’s website.  I cued up the site and studied it for the rest of the ride.  This way I’m prepared.   Otherwise, they’d be on desserts before I even chose an appetizer!

The restaurant has a huge menu and a wonderful variety.  They offer items that mimic meat dishes such as “beef” lo mein which uses soy protein to stand in for the beef.  They also offer many dishes which are just vegetables.

I wanted to spread my wings and pick something very vegetarian.  I completely ruled out the dishes that had a substitute protein.  I’m not out to be a faker like that…not that there’s anything wrong with it…I just wanted to be adventurous 🙂  But I’m a scaredy cat too so I kept gravitating to the items I knew the most about…like cheese ragoons.  And of course I could have gotten down with any of the desserts.

I narrowed it down to 2 dishes:

Hawaiian Deluxe, a dish of fresh pineapples, bell peppers, onions, tomato, celery, and soy protein nuggets
or

California Avocado Sandwich, a fresh avocado, spinach, sun-dried tomato and fresh mozzarella cheese… served with fries and a soup

But I already eliminated the nuggets and honestly the sandwich had me at avocado AND sun-dried tomatoes!!  And mozzarella cheese!!! The sandwich won out…hands down.

I opted for wonton soup and we ordered fried black pepper mushrooms appetizer. The mushrooms came with a brown garlic sauce that I could have added to dirt.  It was that good!!

image

image

Let me just say…everything was delicious.  Like slap yo’ mama kind of delicious…not that I’m pro violence towards any mamas out there… And the sandwich…oh the sandwich…everything I imagined and more!!  Absolute heaven on a bun!!

If I could have this everyday,  I could sooo be vegetarian!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

