Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I saw Breakfast at Tiffany’s on the big screen

on September 2, 2014

Today I saw THE Breakfast at Tiffany’s on THE big screen!!

Our newspaper movie reviewer, THE Mal Vincent, hosts a summer movies series at a local theater where they bring the oldie, goodie movies back to THE big screen, where they belong! This season they featured movies like Casablanca (I am still kicking THE bootie that I am sitting on for not going to this!), Auntie Mame and East Side, West Side.

I arrived to the movie theater at least an hour early and still found quite THE line. I had planned to meet my dear friend but when I rounded the corner, I almost paniced I wouldn’t find her.
image

I did what any good movie goer does, I took my place at the back of THE line. I searched the line as I passed, looking for my friend but got to the end and still didn’t see her. I thought to myself, well at least we’ll have a spot in line. Just as I was settling in to line, I heard my name and wouldn’t you know, she found me!!

Now, because I just followed the masses, I didn’t realize one needed a ticket. Luckily, I have a super smart friend who scored THE tickets before seeking me out. It’s good having genius friends!
image

Once in the theater, one of the theater employees introduced the opening act. Because Breakfast at Tiffany’s premiered in 1961, he thought it would be great to show THE moment that changed life as we know it…

A little show hosted by THE Ed:
image

Featuring THE Paul:
image

And THE screaming girls:
image

Oh yah, and THE John and THE George
image

And THE some other guy…
image

Then THE Mal spoke to intorduce the movie
image

He shared some wonderful movie facts:
* His right hand has touched THE Audrey Hepburn.
* Audrey’s dog, Precious, got Mal an interview with Audrey…although he never met the pup.
* Audrey hated the opening scene of the movie. She loathed danishes and had to eat several while window shopping at THE Tiffany’s.
* Henry Mancini wrote “Moon River” specifically for Audrey’s limited singing range
* Tony Curtis was originally set to play Paul, however Audrey’s husband said no to THE hell no. Actually, I improvised…he probably simply said hell no.

And then he gave us quotes to listen out for during THE movie:
“It should take you exactly four seconds to cross from here to that door. I’ll give you two.”

“You could always tell what kind of a person a man thinks you are by the earrings he gives you. I must say, the mind reels.”

“A girl can’t read that sort of thing without her lipstick.”

“Promise me one thing: don’t take me home until I’m drunk – very drunk indeed.”
image

And then THE movie began…and it was everything you could imagine. We got to spend 115 minutes in Holly Golightly’s world where every night is party night and reality only ruins the party. Glamour at 30′ by 70′! It should be considered against THE law to try to watch this movie on a lesser scale screen.

I walked out of the theater absolutely mesmerized. I never imagined I would have THE opportunity to see this movie in a theater. In fact, I left wanting to grab my little black dress, 2 foot cigarette wand and hop THE first plane to NY City to just stand in Tiffany’s.

And I still just might!

Leave a Reply

