Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I walked the Million Bulb Walk (and Cuddle Duds)

on November 21, 2014

The Norfolk Botanical Gardens creates a beautiful light display in celebration of the holiday season called the Million Bulb Walk.  This is the first year I’ve visited the display.  Normally, you would enjoy the lights from the comfort of your car however for a short period of time they open it for visitors to walk through the one mile path.

image

Gingerbread peeps and candy confections welcome you into the gardens.

image

Flowers and rainbows begin the light tour.

image

No light display could ever be without fireworks!

image

Caterpillars, mushrooms, butterflies and daisies…

image

Close up…

image

A rose…

image

A sunflower…

image

This Christmas tree was just one of several that was synchronized to the Linus song and Trans Syberian Orchestra – Christmas Eve/Sarajevo.

image

I love shooting stars! 🙂

image

A cutiepie elf!

image

A busy elf.

image

Wow…what a walk!  I started in Norfolk but ended up in the North Pole!

image

Beautiful trees!!

image

More beautiful trees!

image

Happy Holidays!! 🙂

After reading this, you may feel like you’ve seen the whole show.  No worries…there’s still a ton for you to see!

P.S.  I did not see one bulb burnt out…I looked…obsessively…believe me, you would have gotten a picture!!

Side Something New:
I knew tonight would be in the 30s and despite my plan to wear jeans and a sweater I also knew I’d be freezing my bootie off.  Earlier I found Cuddle Duds at Walmart and decided  tonight would be a great test of their worth.

Cuddle Duds are new fangled long johns.  No longer do you have to suffer the old timey, waffle fabric long johns.  Now they use microfiber as insulation.  The advantage is a less bulky, more effective method to hold your body heat.

I purchased both the top and the bottoms for $20.  As I opted for the black pair, with just them on, I look like cat woman!!! lol. Meow…I then put my jeans and sweater on.  Immediately I felt warmer and loved that I didn’t feel like the Michelin Man like you do when you have on so many layers.

Overall, they kept me toasty on a fridged walk.  Definately a great investment!!  As I’m losing weight (down 36 lbs!!) I tend to get cold easily.  I’m truly pondering an whole wardrobe of these to get through winter!!  Or Bradley Cooper…either one would probably keep me equally warm 😉

2 responses to “Today I walked the Million Bulb Walk (and Cuddle Duds)

  1. Tina says:

    I’ve been wearing cuddle duds for a couple of years now; since I’ve begun wearing only skirts. LOVE THEM!!!

Leave a Reply

