Erica's Blog

The Try Something New Everyday experiment

Today I cut a cantaloupe

on June 3, 2015

Is it just me or when you type cantaloupe in your head you say can-ta-loo-pe to make sure you don’t forget the u?

No?
Just me?  Ok…

So, I’ve cut cantaloupe before.  I usually slice it long ways, cut in to long stripes, then trim off all the rind.

But cantaloupes are slippery and I always end up cutting off too much of the precious melon.  Surly there had to be a better way.

And surly there is.  I searched on YouTube and found this video on how to cut cantaloupe more efficiently.

I had it all wrong from the beginning.  First, cut the melon right smack dab in the middle.

image

Then spoon out the seeds.

Is it just me or when you scoop out the seeds you think “brainzzzz”?

No?
Just me? Ok…

Then you have a beautiful hollowed out cantaloupe.

image

Is it just me or does that look like a heart?

No?
Just me?  Ok…

Next up, turn the cantaloupe over and beginning removing the rind.

image

I love this method as I could make sure to keep more of the melon on the melon!

image

Once you’ve made your way around and removed the stem end, you cut the melon into slices.

image

Is it just me or does that look like a beanie?

No?
Just me?
Hmm…I’m starting to wonder about you…

And viola!  In 10 minutes my ziplock bag was full of cantaloupe.

image

I’m on Day 3 of Raw Week in the My Clean Eating Challenge.  When I eat raw I pretty much graze all day long.  A banana here, a peach there, a carrot cake…

Just kidding!  No carrot cake…just testing if you’re still following along.

Therefore, Cantaloope!!  It’s what’s for dinner!!  And snack!!  And second snack!!  And dessert!!  And fourth meal!!  Yum!!

Leave a Reply

